TalkEnglish Forums

Community for English Learners
  HOME   |    FORUMS   |    INSTRUCTIONS   |    STUDY METHOD   |    FAQs
It is currently Wed Jan 17, 2018 1:39 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: I'm glad to be a member!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 5:12 am 

Hi Steve and members of the TalkEnglish Forum

I'm a new member and above all I would like to tell you that I'm thankful that I discovered the site a few days ago.

In June 2007, I started learning English by myself. I started by listening for hours to English podcasts every single day. I love it and my listening skills grow slowly up with time. Then, I started reading and writing. As I had a lot of pleasure to do so, I noticed progress after practicing enormously. It wasn't hard work at all. I perfectly knew how to improve and I enjoyed the process.

I've never studied grammar rules or tried to translate. The reason is that I'm German and when I moved to France, I've learnt French in a naturally way. I wasn't surrounded by German people and I was forced to learn the language by listening, trying to repeat and speak the foreign language. It wasn't easy at all but I knew if ever I would like to learn English, I would like to learn it in the same way, I did with French, without school, grammar or translation.

I really love listening, writing and reading in English but speaking wasn't my goal. As I'm not living in an English speaking country things are different as when I moved to France.

A few months ago, I changed my mind and I realized how important it is to communicate with other by voice. Actually, I really have the desire to speak... but I can't.

I'm not surprised. I've never made any effort.

After I read Steve's instructions, I found the perfect guide how to learn speaking English. All is crystal clear and I haven't any question.
It will be very hard work but now I know how to do.

I'll practice everyday exactly the way Steve recommends to do.